Keep it moving forward.”

-Lorne Michaels

Lorne Michaels

2006 Lifetime Artistic Achievement (Screens and Voices (formerly Broadcasting and Film))

Lorne Michaels is the creator and executive producer of NBC's Saturday Night Live, the longest-running, highest-rated late-night television show in history. In 31 years on the air, SNL has featured a veritable Who's Who of comedy, including Canadians Dan Aykroyd and Mike Myers, and U.S. stars John Belushi, Chevy Chase, Will Ferrell, Tina Fey, Eddie Murphy, Bill Murray, Gilda Radner and Adam Sandler. The show has won numerous Emmy Awards and the prestigious George Foster Peabody Award.

Every week, millions of viewers tune in to watch talented comedians and superstar hosts poke fun at mainstream society. The 90 minute show is produced live on camera: “We don't go on because it's ready,” says Mr. Michaels, “we go on because it's 11:30. That tends to be very clarifying."

Born in Toronto, Lorne Michaels began his career as a writer and broadcaster for CBC Radio, and later starred in the comedy series The Hart & Lorne Terrific Hour which ran for three seasons on CBC. Before and after, he worked in New York and Los Angeles for comedians Woody Allen and Dick Cavett, and on television for Rowan and Martin's Laugh–In as well as a special for Lily Tomlin. In 1975, he submitted his idea for Saturday Night Live to NBC executives, who courageously agreed to give his groundbreaking concept a try.

Mr. Michaels' other television credits include the series The Kids in the Hall and Night Music, and specials with Steve Martin, Paul Simon, The Rutles, The Rolling Stones, the Beach Boys, Randy Newman, Neil Young, and Simon and Garfunkel in Central Park. He has produced over a dozen feature films, including Three Amigos, Wayne's World, Tommy Boy, Mean Girls, and Enigma (coproduced with Mick Jagger), and several Broadway shows, including Gilda Radner Live from New York.

In addition to his weekly duties on SNL, he is executive producer of NBC's Late Night with Conan O'Brien and the new NBC comedy 30 Rock, premiering this fall. A generous mentor, he has consistently showcased Canadian talent and, through his foundation, supports a number of charitable organizations.

Awards and honours include Member of the Order of Canada (2002); Mark Twain Prize for American Humor (2004); inducted into Canada's Walk of Fame (2003), the Hollywood Walk of Fame (1999) and the Television Academy Hall of Fame (1999); and ten Emmy Awards.