Enjoy yourself. It’s later than you think.”

-—Guy Lombardo

Ryan Reynolds

2020 National Arts Centre Award

Actor, producer, screenwriter, entrepreneur and activist

Ryan Reynolds is one of Canada’s most beloved and widely recognized actors. In a repertoire ranging from TV sitcoms to animated and feature films, he has established himself as a versatile and engaging performer with a charismatic and quirky persona. Most recently, he has earned popular and critical acclaim for his portrayal of the title character in the hugely successful action movies Deadpool and Deadpool 2.
 
Mr. Reynolds was born in Vancouver in 1976. The youngest of four brothers, he claims he developed his creativity and trademark wit “mostly for survival purposes.” He landed his first TV role at 13, and appeared in several TV movies and the CBC fantasy series “The Odyssey” before graduating from high school.
 
After moving to Hollywood in 1994, he co-starred in the sitcom “Two Guys, a Girl and a Pizza Place” before moving on to feature-film work. He has appeared in a wide range of Canadian and Hollywood productions, including the comedies National Lampoon’s Van Wilder and The In-Laws (with Michael Douglas and Albert Brooks), Buried, Safe House, the romantic comedies Definitely, Maybe and The Proposal (with Sandra Bullock), Pokémon: Detective Pikachu, and the action movie X-Men Origins: Wolverine (with Hugh Jackman).
 
In 2016, he starred as the self-deprecating, wise-cracking anti-hero in the blockbuster hit Deadpool, based on the Marvel Comics character of the same name. The darkly funny film achieved impressive financial and critical success: it became one of the highest-grossing R-rated films of all time, won several awards, and earned Mr. Reynolds a Golden Globe nomination. He produced the film and its equally popular sequel, Deadpool 2 (2018), for which he also co-wrote the screenplay. A third instalment is currently in development.
 
A committed environmentalist and activist, he has been involved with a number of charities, including the Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research, the Make-a-Wish Foundation, the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, and the Young Center for Immigrant Children’s Rights.
 
Ryan Reynolds has a star on Canada’s Walk of Fame and the Hollywood Walk of Fame, and has won the Broadcast Film Critics Association Award for Best Actor in a Comedy and two People’s Choice Awards.

Amusez-vous. Il est plus tard que vous ne pensez. »

-—Guy Lombardo

Ryan Reynolds

Prix du Centre national des Arts 2020

Comédien, producteur, scénariste, entrepreneur et militant

Ryan Reynolds est l’un des acteurs canadiens les plus aimés et reconnus. Aussi à l’aise dans des comédies de situation que dans des films d’animation ou des longs métrages, il s’illustre comme artiste polyvalent et attachant à la personnalité charismatique et excentrique. Récemment, il a reçu les éloges tant du public que de la critique pour son interprétation du rôle‑titre des films d’action à grand succès Deadpool et Deadpool 2.
 
Né à Vancouver en 1976, M. Reynolds est le plus jeune de quatre frères. Il affirme avoir développé sa créativité et son esprit si caractéristique « essentiellement comme mode de survie ». Il a décroché son premier rôle à la télévision à l’âge de 13 ans et, avant de terminer le secondaire, a joué dans plusieurs téléfilms ainsi que dans la série L’Odyssée fantastique ou imaginaire sur CBC.
 
Il s’est installé à Hollywood en 1994 et a par la suite joué dans la comédie de situation Un toit pour trois, avant de se consacrer au cinéma. Il est apparu dans des films canadiens et hollywoodiens, notamment les comédies National Lampoon présente Van Wilder et Les Beaux-Pères (avec Michael Douglas et Albert Brooks), Enterré, Sécurité rapprochée, les comédies romantiques Bien sûr, peut-être et La Proposition (avec Sandra Bullock), Pokémon : Détective Pikachu, et le film d’action X-Men les origines : Wolverine (avec Hugh Jackman).
 
En 2016, il a interprété l’antihéros à l’esprit caustique et au sens de l’autodérision du célèbre Deadpool, d’après la bande dessinée éponyme de Marvel Comics. À la fois sombre et comique, le film plusieurs fois primé a connu un impressionnant succès financier et critique, s’imposant comme l’une des productions 18+ ayant récolté les plus importantes recettes de tous les temps, et méritant au comédien une nomination aux Golden Globe. M. Reynolds est le producteur du film et de la tout aussi populaire suite, Deadpool 2 (2018), dont il a coécrit le scénario. Un troisième film est en cours de développement.
 
Écologiste et militant convaincu, il s’est impliqué auprès de plusieurs organismes de bienfaisance, dont la Fondation Michael J. Fox pour la recherche sur le Parkinson, la Fondation Fais-Un-Vœu, le NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund et le Young Center for Immigrant Children’s Rights.
 
Ryan Reynolds a son étoile sur l’Allée des célébrités canadiennes et la Hollywood Walk of Fame. Il a aussi remporté le Prix du meilleur acteur dans une comédie de la Broadcast Film Critics Association, et deux Prix People’s Choice.