Grant me a steady hand and watchful eye,
That none shall be harmed as I pass by.”

-—Anonymous

Catherine O'Hara

2020 Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award (Broadcasting and Film)

Actor and writer

Catherine O’Hara is an acting legend whose on-screen creations have imprinted themselves on our cultural consciousness. A gifted and generous collaborator, she has brought her creative genius to many groundbreaking comedy productions and ensembles. From her Emmyâ Award-winning work on the sketch comedy series “SCTV” and her lead roles in Christopher Guest’s mockumentary films, to her iconic character on the hit CBC TV comedy “Schitt’s Creek,” she is a cultural trailblazer whose international success has inspired many artists and helped pave the way for the next generation of women in comedy.
 
Ms. O’Hara was born in Toronto in 1954, and launched her acting career with The Second City comedy troupe. “Second City was my university,” she says. “I learned writing, scene structure, character development … everything I’m still tapping into, and I was fortunate enough to meet all those wonderful, talented people with whom I still get to work.” Later, with other Second City alumni, she created the sketch comedy series “SCTV” (Second City Television), where her satirical impersonations and original characters earned her wide acclaim and an Emmyâ Award for outstanding writing.
 
Her role as fan favourite Moira Rose, the eccentric, high-fashion matriarch on “Schitt’s Creek,” earned her four consecutive Canadian Screen Awards for Best Actress in a Comedy and the ACTRA Award for Outstanding Female Performance. She has also made guest appearances on such top-rated TV series as “Six Feet Under,” “Curb Your Enthusiasm” and “30 Rock.”
 
Ms. O’Hara’s film credits include lead and supporting roles in Beetlejuice, Home Alone and Home Alone 2, After Hours, Heartburn, The Life Before This, Penelope, Away We Go, Where the Wild Things Are, A.C.O.D., and The Right Kind of Wrong. She co-starred with Eugene Levy (2008 GGPAA) in the critically acclaimed Christopher Guest mockumentaries Waiting for Guffman, Best in Show, A Mighty Wind and For Your Consideration.
 
Catherine O’Hara is an Officer of the Order of Canada. Her other awards include a Genie and (with Eugene Levy) the Legacy Award from the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television.

Offrez-moi une main sûre et un œil vigilant,
afin que nul ne soit blessé à mon passage. »

-– Anonyme

Catherine O'Hara

Prix de la réalisation artistique 2021 (Radiotélédiffusion et cinéma)

Comédienne et auteure

Catherine O’Hara est une véritable légende du monde de la comédie. Ses créations à l’écran ont imprégné tout notre univers culturel. Collaboratrice douée et généreuse, elle a mis son génie créatif au service de plusieurs comédies innovantes. Tant dans le cadre de ses sketchs pour la série primée aux Emmy SCTV (Second City Television) que de ses premiers rôles dans les films « documenteurs » de Christopher Guest, ou encore pour son personnage emblématique de la série de comédie à succès Schitt’s Creek sur CBC TV, elle a connu un succès international, ouvrant la voie à une nouvelle génération de femmes en comédie.
 
Née à Toronto en 1954, Mme O’Hara a débuté sa carrière au sein de la troupe comique The Second City. « Second City a été mon université, dit-elle. J’y ai appris l’écriture, les structures scéniques, le développement des personnages… tout ce que je fais encore aujourd’hui, et j’ai été chanceuse de rencontrer tous ces gens merveilleux et talentueux avec qui je travaille toujours. » Plus tard, avec d’autres anciens de Second City, elle a créé SCTV; les imitations satiriques et les personnages originaux de la série de comédie lui ont valu tous les éloges, et les textes, un Prix Emmy.
 
Pour son rôle de Moira Rose, l’excentrique et snobinarde matriarche de Schitt’s Creek, elle a remporté six années de suite le Prix Écrans canadiens de la meilleure interprétation féminine dans une comédie, et en 2021, elle est devenue la quatrième personne de l'histoire à remporter les cinq principaux prix de la télévision américaine en une même saison : Screen Actors Guild, Television Critics Association, Emmy, Golden Globe et Critics Choice. Elle a en outre été comédienne invitée à de populaires séries télé comme Six Feet Under, Cache ta joie et 30 Rock.
 
Au cinéma, Mme O’Hara a joué tant des rôles principaux que des rôles de soutien, notamment dans Bételgeuse, Maman j’ai raté l’avion 1 et 2, Quelle nuit de galère, The Life Before This, Pénélope, Ailleurs nous irons, Max et les maximonstres, A.C.O.D. et L’erreur parfaite. Elle a partagé la vedette avec Eugene Levy (PGGAS 2008) dans les « documenteurs » à succès de Christopher Guest Waiting for Guffman, Bêtes de scène, Les Grandes Retrouvailles et For Your Consideration.
 
Catherine O’Hara est Officier de l’Ordre du Canada. Elle est aussi lauréate d’un Prix Génie, d’un Prix ACTRA et, avec Eugene Levy, du Prix Héritage de l’Académie canadienne du cinéma et de la télévision.