Music is the most ephemeral of the arts—a mere vibration of air. The string, the vocal cord, a length of tubing, a block of wood are set in motion by a bow, the breath, a mallet. The air vibrates and it travels to you. Your eardrum quivers with those vibrations—you are moving with the music. Music is a such a wonder. The composer controls those vibrations that you receive. What a job!”

-—Alexina Louie

Alexina Louie

2020 Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award (Classical Music)

Composer

Alexina Louie is one of Canadaʼs most celebrated and sought-after composers. A versatile, imaginative and prolific creator, she has written for all musical genres, from piano, voice and orchestra to opera and film; her orchestral works have been performed by leading international ensembles, and her music has been selected for productions by the National Ballet of Canada. Her distinctive style—a blend of Asian and Western influences—draws from a wide spectrum of sources, from her Chinese heritage to her theoretical and performance studies. Though she is a thoroughly Canadian composer, her musical voice is heard, recognized and acclaimed around the world.
 
Ms. Louie was born in Vancouver in 1949 and studied at the University of British Columbia and the University of California at San Diego. Her impressive body of work totals nearly 80 compositions, including Take the Dog Sled, for two Inuit throat singers and seven musicians; Scenes from a Jade Terrace, for solo piano, commissioned by Jon Kimura Parker; and O Magnum Mysterium: In Memoriam Glenn Gould, for 44 individual string parts, a tribute to the great Canadian piano virtuoso.
 
As composer-in-residence at the Canadian Opera Company, she composed a full-length opera, The Scarlet Princess, with libretto by Tony Award-winning playwright David Henry Hwang (M. Butterfly). Previously, with librettist Dan Redican and director Larry Weinstein, she created the groundbreaking comedic mini operas Toothpaste and Burnt Toast.
 
In 2017, her Triple Concerto for Three Violins and Orchestra, jointly commissioned by the Toronto Symphony, the National Arts Centre Orchestra and the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, was performed by all three orchestras during Canada’s 150th anniversary year. In 2019, the prestigious Honens International Piano Festival honoured her with a concert devoted to her compositions.
 
Alexina Louie is an Officer of the Order of Canada, an Order of Ontario inductee, and a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Her other awards and honours include the Queen Elizabeth II Golden and Diamond Jubilee medals, two Juno Awards, the Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music, the National Arts Centre Composer Award, the Chalmers Award in Composition and the Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prize, and an honorary doctorate from the University of Calgary.

La musique est le plus éphémère des arts, elle est une simple vibration de l’air. Une corde, une corde vocale, les coulisses d’un instrument sont activées par un archet, une respiration ou un maillet. Nos tympans frémissent à ces vibrations et nous vibrons alors avec la musique. La musique est une véritable merveille.
Le compositeur maîtrise ces vibrations que vous recevez. Quel travail! »

-—Alexina Louie

Alexina Louie

Prix de la réalisation artistique 2020 (Musique classique)

Compositrice

Alexina Louie est l’une des compositrices canadiennes les plus estimées et les plus recherchées. Créatrice polyvalente, prolifique et à l’imagination fertile, elle a composé dans tous les genres musicaux : œuvres pour piano, vocales et orchestrales, opéras, musiques de film… Ses compositions pour orchestre ont été jouées par des ensembles de réputation internationale, et ont notamment servi au Ballet national du Canada. Alliant influences asiatiques et occidentales, son style unique s’inspire de nombreuses sources, dont son héritage chinois et ses études en théorie et en interprétation. La musique de cette compositrice résolument canadienne est entendue, reconnue et acclamée partout dans le monde.
 
Née à Vancouver, en 1949, Mme Louie a étudié à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et à l’Université de Californie à San Diego. Son œuvre impressionnante compte près de 80 compositions, dont Take the Dog Sled, une œuvre pour deux interprètes de chant de gorge inuits et sept musiciens; Scenes from a Jade Terrace, une partition pour piano solo commandée par Jon Kimura Parker; et O Magnum Mysterium: In Memoriam Glenn Gould, pour 44 instrumentistes à cordes, un hommage au pianiste virtuose canadien.
 
À titre de compositrice en résidence à la Canadian Opera Company, elle a composé un opéra intégral, The Scarlet Princess, dont le livret a été écrit par l’auteur primé aux Tony David Henry Hwang (M. Butterfly). Précédemment, avec le librettiste Dan Redican et le metteur en scène Larry Weinstein, elle a créé les mini-opéras comiques avant-gardistes Toothpaste et Burnt Toast.
 
En 2017, son Triple Concerto pour trois violons et orchestre, commandé conjointement par l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts et l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, a été joué par les trois ensembles lors des célébrations du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne. En 2019, le prestigieux Festival international de piano Honens lui a rendu hommage en présentant un concert de ses œuvres.
 
Alexina Louie est Officier de l’Ordre du Canada, récipiendaire de l’Ordre de l’Ontario et membre de la Société royale du Canada. Entre autres distinctions, elle a reçu les médailles du jubilé d’or et de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II, deux Prix Juno, le Prix Jules-Léger de la nouvelle musique de chambre, le Prix de composition du Centre national des Arts, le Prix Chalmers de composition, le Prix Molson du Conseil des arts du Canada, ainsi qu’un doctorat honorifique de l’Université de Calgary.