You see things; and you say ‘Why?’ But I dream things that never were; and I say ‘Why not?’”

-—George Bernard Shaw

Peter A. Herrndorf

2018 Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award (Special Award)

Arts advocate, leader and passionate Canadian

Peter A. Herrndorf has devoted his career to journalism, broadcasting and the arts in Canada. As president and CEO (1999–2018) of Canada’s National Arts Centre (NAC), North America’s only multidisciplinary, bilingual performing arts centre, he has worked tirelessly to fulfill the centre’s mandate: to play a leadership role in fostering artistic excellence in all disciplines of the performing arts in Canada. A visionary champion of performance, creation and learning, he was instrumental in establishing the National Arts Centre Foundation and the NAC’s Indigenous Theatre Department, and is credited with transforming the NAC artistically through major national and international cultural projects, and physically through a $225.4-million architectural rejuvenation and production renewal project completed in 2018. “It’s been exhilarating, it’s been stimulating, it’s been a privilege,” he says. “I’ve loved every bit of it.”
Mr. Herrndorf was born in 1940 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, and moved to Winnipeg in 1948. Before joining the NAC, he was a television producer at CBC, head of CBC TV Current Affairs, then vice-president and general manager of the CBC’s English-language radio and TV networks; publisher of Toronto Life magazine; and chair and CEO of TVOntario.
In 1992, he and his colleague Brian Robertson created the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards (GGPAA), under the patronage of the Right Honourable Ramon John Hnatyshyn, then-Governor General of Canada, and his wife, Gerda.
Actively involved with many Canadian arts organizations, he is the former chair of the Stratford Shakespeare Festival, the Canadian Stage Company, and the Canadian Museum of Civilization, among others. He currently serves on the boards of the GGPAA Foundation, Luminato (Toronto’s Festival of Arts and Creativity), and the Campaign Committee of Dalhousie University’s Fountain School for the Performing Arts.
Peter A. Herrndorf is a Companion of the Order of Canada and a member of the Order of Ontario. Other awards and distinctions include the inaugural Peter Herrndorf Arts Leadership Award (Business for the Arts); Diplôme d’honneur (Canadian Conference of the Arts) for outstanding service to the arts in Canada; William Kilbourn Award (Toronto Arts Awards Foundation); John Drainie Award (Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television); and honorary degrees from eight Canadian universities and colleges.

Vous voyez les choses et vous dites : pourquoi? Moi, je rêve de choses qui n’ont jamais existé et je dis : pourquoi pas? »

-—George Bernard Shaw

Peter A. Herrndorf

Prix de la réalisation artistique 2018 (Prix spécial)

Défenseur des arts, leader et Canadien passionné

Peter A. Herrndorf a consacré sa vie au journalisme, à la radiodiffusion et aux arts au Canada. Comme président et chef de la direction (1999-2018) du Centre national des Arts du Canada (CNA) seul centre des arts de la scène multidisciplinaire et bilingue en Amérique du Nord, il a travaillé sans relâche à exécuter le mandat de l'organisme : jouer un rôle de leader pour favoriser l’excellence dans toutes les disciplines des arts de la scène au Canada. À la fois visionnaire et champion de la diffusion, de la création et de la transmission des savoirs, il a été un acteur clé dans la création de la Fondation du Centre national des Arts et du Théâtre autochtone du CNA. Il a aussi joué un rôle déterminant dans la transformation artistique et physique du CNA, d’une part avec des réalisations culturelles d’envergure nationale et internationale, et de l’autre par le projet de rajeunissement architectural et de renouvellement des équipements de production de 225,4 millions de dollars terminé en 2018. « Ce fut exaltant et stimulant, et ce fut un privilège, dit-il. J’ai aimé chaque moment. »
 
M. Herrndorf est né en 1940 à Amsterdam, aux Pays-Bas, et sa famille a immigré à Winnipeg en 1948. Avant de se joindre au CNA, il a été producteur de télévision à CBC, chef des affaires publiques à la télévision de CBC, puis vice-président et directeur général de la radio et de la télévision de CBC, éditeur du magazine Toronto Life, et président et chef de la direction de TVOntario.
 
En 1992, avec la collaboration de Brian Robertson, il a créé les Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle (PGGAS) sous le patronage du très honorable Ramon John Hnatyshyn, alors gouverneur général du Canada, et de son épouse, Gerda.
 
Engagé activement au sein de plusieurs organisations artistiques, il a notamment été président des conseils d'administration du Festival Shakespeare de Stratford, de la Canadian Stage Company et du Musée canadien des civilisations. Il est actuellement membre du conseil des PGGAS, du festival Luminato (Festival of Arts and Creativity) à Toronto et du comité de campagne de la Fountain School for the Performing Arts de l’Université Dalhousie.
 
Peter A. Herrndorf  est Compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada et membre de l’Ordre de l’Ontario. Parmi les autres distinctions qu’il a reçues, mentionnons le tout premier Prix Peter Herrndorf récompensant le leadership dans le domaine des arts (Les Affaires pour les arts), le Diplôme d’honneur de la Conférence canadienne des arts pour sa contribution exceptionnelle au domaine des arts au Canada, le Prix William Kilbourn de la Toronto Arts Awards Foundation, le Prix John Drainie de l’Académie canadienne du cinéma et de la télévision et des doctorats honorifiques de huit universités et collèges canadiens.