'Thy will be done' is my daily prayer and offering.”

-—Geneviève Bujold

Geneviève Bujold

2018 Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award (Film)

Actress

In a career spanning more than 50 years, Geneviève Bujold has appeared in more than 70 films in both English and French, and her intensity, passion, and luminous screen presence have earned her international acclaim and numerous awards. From historical dramas to thrillers and adventure movies, her work is as impressive for its range as for its quality: as Moe Doiron of The Globe and Mail remarked, “There’s nothing that could be called ‘a typical Geneviève Bujold picture.’” Her best-known lead roles include Anne Boleyn in Anne of the Thousand Days (directed by Charles Jarrott, 1969) and Élisabeth in Kamouraska (Claude Jutra, 1973); more recently, she appeared in Still Mine (Michael McGowan, 2012) and Chorus (François Delisle, 2015).
 
Ms. Bujold was born in Montréal in 1942 and educated at a strict convent school. “I was illuminated by the beauty of the convent,” she recalls. “It opened the door to my inner life: silence, solitude, calm.” She continued her studies at the Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Montréal, and made her stage debut at the age of 19 as Rosine in a production of The Barber of Seville.
 
Her film career began in 1965, when French director Alain Resnais cast her opposite Yves Montand in his film The War Is Over. Her breakthrough came in 1969, as Anne Boleyn opposite Richard Burton’s King Henry VIII in Anne of the Thousand Days. In Canada, she has worked with such leading directors as Michel Brault (Entre la mer et l’eau douce, Les Noces de papier, My Friend Max); Paul Almond (Isabel, Act of the Heart, Journey, Final Assignment, The Dance Goes On); David Cronenberg (Dead Ringers); and Don McKellar (Last Night).
 
Ms. Bujold’s current focus is on small-budget independent films. “Film is a healing art,” she says. “In front of the camera, I feel free.”
 
Geneviève Bujold’s awards and distinctions include three Canadian Film Awards, an Oscar nomination, a Genie, a Golden Globe for Best Actress, a Prix Gémeaux for Best Actress, and two Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards for Best Supporting Actress.

“Que votre volonté soit faite” est ma prière et mon offrande tous les jours. »

-—Geneviève Bujold

Geneviève Bujold

Prix de la réalisation artistique 2018 (Cinéma)

Actrice

En plus de 50 ans de carrière, Geneviève Bujold a joué dans plus de 70 films, tant en anglais qu’en français. Son intensité, sa passion et sa présence lumineuse à l’écran lui ont valu la reconnaissance internationale et plusieurs distinctions. Aussi à l’aise dans le drame historique que dans le film à suspense ou le film d’aventure, elle s’est distinguée par sa polyvalence et la qualité de son jeu. Comme l’a souligné Moe Doiron du Globe and Mail, on ne saurait dire ce qu’est un film « typique » de Geneviève Bujold. Parmi ses grands rôles, mentionnons Anne Boleyn dans Anne des mille jours (réalisé par Charles Jarrott, 1969) et Élisabeth dans Kamouraska (Claude Jutra, 1973); plus récemment, elle a joué dans Still Mine (Michael McGowan, 2012) et Chorus (François Delisle, 2015).
 
Née à Montréal en 1942, Mme Bujold a reçu une éducation stricte dans un couvent dont la beauté l’a séduite. Ce lieu « a ouvert pour moi la porte de la vie intérieure, le silence, la solitude, le calme. » Elle a poursuivi ses études au Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Montréal et fait ses débuts sur scène à 19 ans dans le rôle de Rosine dans Le barbier de Séville.
 
Elle a commencé sa carrière au cinéma en 1965 aux côtés d’Yves Montand dans La guerre est finie, du réalisateur français Alain Resnais. Elle a atteint la gloire en 1969 dans le rôle d’Anne Boleyn aux côtés de Richard Burton (qui joue le roi Henry VIII) dans Anne des mille jours. Au Canada, elle a travaillé avec des réalisateurs de renom comme Michel Brault (Entre la mer et l’eau douce, Les Noces de papier, Mon amie Max), Paul Almond (Isabel, Acte du cœur, Journey, Le dernier reportage, The Dance Goes On), David Cronenberg (Faux-semblants) et Don McKellar (Last Night).
 
Mme Bujold se concentre actuellement sur des films à petit budget de producteurs indépendants. « L’art du cinéma guérit, dit-elle. Devant la caméra, je me sens libre. »
 
Entre autres distinctions, Geneviève Bujold a été finaliste aux Oscars et a reçu trois prix au Festival du film canadien, un Prix Génie, un prix de la meilleure actrice aux Golden Globe Awards, un Prix Gémeaux de la meilleure actrice et deux prix de la meilleure actrice dans un rôle de soutien de la Los Angeles Film Critics Association.