Art is the shortest path from one human being to another.”

-– André Malraux

*Suzanne Lebeau
Sophie Dupuis | Director
Hailing originally from Val-d'Or, director and writer Sophie Dupuis has several live-action short films to her credit (L'hiver et la violence, Faillir, J'viendrai t'chercher) that have won awards both in Canada and internationally. Quiet Forces (2015) was her first foray into the documentary format. In addition to coaching child actors, Ms Dupuis has been busy writing two feature-length films. 

Suzanne Lebeau

2016 Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award (Theatre)

Children’s playwright and artistic director

In more than 40 years of unwavering commitment to children, playwright and artistic director Suzanne Lebeau has achieved international recognition as a leader in contemporary theatre for young people. Her plays have been translated into two dozen languages, and she is among the most-produced Quebec writers in the world. Her important contributions to changing conventional attitudes and promoting innovative writing for young audiences have earned her many awards and honours.
 
Ms. Lebeau was born in Montréal in 1948. At first she was headed for a career as an actress, but after founding Le Carrousel with Gervais Gaudreault in 1975, she gradually gave up acting to devote herself exclusively to writing. Thanks to her profound understanding of a child’s perspective, her plays are forged with a shattering humanity. Pushing limits and boundaries, she does not hesitate to tackle challenging sociocultural issues that broaden the scope of dramatic writing for young audiences. Though her work often deals with difficult subjects, her aim is always to open young imaginations to a world of hope.
 
She has written more than 30 plays, including Une lune entre deux maisons (A Moon Between Two Houses, 1979), the first Canadian play written specifically for young children; L’Ogrelet (The Ogreling, 1997), which was translated into 13 languages; Le bruit des os qui craquent (The Sound of Cracking Bones, 2009), a play about child soldiers; and Gretel et Hansel (2013), a retelling of the classic fairy tale that examines the emotional intensity of sibling relationships.
 
“Children always understand a lot more than we think,” she says. “They have great moral strength, and they’re amazingly receptive to innovative forms and bold ideas.”
 
Suzanne Lebeau’s awards and distinctions include the Prix Athanase-David (Prix du Québec), Gascon-Thomas Award (National Theatre School of Canada), Prix RIDEAU Hommage, and a career grant from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec. In 1998, the Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie made her a Knight of the Ordre de la Pléiade for her lifetime body of work.

L’art, c'est le plus court chemin de l’homme à l’homme. »

-– André Malraux

*Suzanne Lebeau
Sophie Dupuis | Réalisation
Originaire de Val-d’Or, Sophie Dupuis est réalisatrice et scénariste. Auteure de plusieurs courts métrages de fiction (L’hiver et la violence, Faillir, J’viendrai t’chercher) primés au pays et à l’étranger, elle s’offre, avec Forces tranquilles (2015), une première incursion en documentaire. En plus de faire du coaching auprès des enfants comédiens, Sophie Dupuis travaille à l’écriture de deux longs métrages de fiction

Suzanne Lebeau

Prix de la réalisation artistique 2016 (Théâtre)

En plus de 40 ans d’engagement auprès des enfants, l’auteure dramatique et directrice artistique Suzanne Lebeau a acquis une renommée internationale dans le milieu du théâtre contemporain destiné aux jeunes publics. Traduite en 25 langues, elle compte parmi les auteurs québécois les plus joués à travers le monde. Elle a notamment contribué à bousculer les conventions et a favorisé l’innovation dans le théâtre jeune public, ce qui lui a valu de nombreux prix et distinctions.
 
Née à Montréal en 1948, Suzanne Lebeau se destine d’abord à une carrière d’actrice. Cependant, après avoir fondé le Carrousel avec Gervais Gaudreault en 1975, elle délaisse peu à peu l’interprétation pour se consacrer exclusivement à l’écriture. L’auteure parvient à merveille à adopter le point de vue de l’enfant, rendant ses œuvres d’une bouleversante humanité. Repoussant les limites et les frontières, elle n’hésite pas à aborder des enjeux socioculturels qui contribuent à l’épanouissement de la dramaturgie pour jeunes publics. Bien qu’elle aborde des thématiques souvent difficiles, c’est toujours pour construire, dans l’imaginaire des jeunes, un monde d’espoir.
 
Suzanne Lebeau a signé plus de 30 pièces dont Une lune entre deux maisons (1979), la première pièce de théâtre canadienne écrite spécifiquement pour la petite enfance; L’Ogrelet (1997), traduite en 13 langues; Le bruit des os qui craquent (2009), une pièce sur les enfants soldats; et Gretel et Hansel (2013), une relecture qui explore les sentiments profonds nés de la fratrie.
 
« Les enfants comprennent toujours beaucoup plus qu’on ne croit, dit-elle. Ils ont une grande force morale et sont incroyablement ouverts aux formes les plus contemporaines et aux idées les plus audacieuses. »
 
Suzanne Lebeau est lauréate du Prix Athanase-David (Prix du Québec), du Prix Gascon-Thomas (École nationale de théâtre du Canada), du Prix RIDEAU Hommage et d’une bourse de carrière du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec. En 1998, l’Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie lui a décerné le grade de Chevalier de l’Ordre de la Pléiade pour l’ensemble de son œuvre.